Windows 10

The war between wetware and hardware.
gnome
Posts: 25995
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:40 am
Location: New Port Richey, FL

Re: Windows 10

Post by gnome »

Handy info:

How to Disable Cortana in Windows 10’s Anniversary Update

Worked very well for me. Also isn't a radical change.

Is anyone experiencing occasional black flicker? I have solutions for that too.
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

Thanks for the tip, gnome.

For my part I'm muting the snitches – only on my laptop, for now – with the (Windows) firewall. The principle is simple:
  • disable (not delete) all rules and set the default to "block";
  • re-enable just what's necessary to get online (and Firefox, &c., of course).
So for Cortana:

http://1.1m.yt/suHC2Eu.png

and similarly with outbound rules.

There's a bonus: updates are inhibited till you open the firewall & ask for them. So no more "Please do not turn off you computer" when you want to go to sleep… 8)

Of course it's not impossible that μ$oft has a backdoor in its own firewall. 10 min with Wireshark showed nothing, but when I have the leisure I'll let it watch for some hours, just in case.
asthmatic camel
Posts: 20398
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 1:53 pm
Title: Forum commie nun.
Location: Stirring the porridge with my spurtle.

Re: Windows 10

Post by asthmatic camel »

Finally! After three attempts, I've found a WiFi dongle that works with Windows 10 without dropping connections all the time. :)

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c129/ ... mrhrl3.png

Decent kit.

And only £10. :) Better than the Netgear A6200 piece of crap that cost me £75, which they couldn't be arsed writing new drivers for. Last time I buy any Netgear stuff.
Rob Lister
Posts: 23535
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:15 pm
Title: Incipient toppler
Location: Swimming in Lake Ed

Re: Windows 10

Post by Rob Lister »

This morning I awoke to a rebooted computer with a message, 'Windows 10 update failed'. I thought I was done with that. But no.
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

asthmatic camel wrote:Netgear […] piece of crap
Very true. I have one for my old XP desktop. Tried out all the versions of the driver/software. Those that work at all freeze the machine if I try to disconnect the dongle.

No MyArmor to be found here – lucky man!
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

Rob Lister wrote:This morning I awoke to a rebooted computer with a message, 'Windows 10 update failed'. I thought I was done with that. But no.
My firewall hack (↑) works:

http://2.1m.yt/kBmPq_E.png
asthmatic camel
Posts: 20398
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 1:53 pm
Title: Forum commie nun.
Location: Stirring the porridge with my spurtle.

Re: Windows 10

Post by asthmatic camel »

Witness wrote:
asthmatic camel wrote:Netgear […] piece of crap
Very true. I have one for my old XP desktop. Tried out all the versions of the driver/software. Those that work at all freeze the machine if I try to disconnect the dongle.

No MyArmor to be found here – lucky man!
Um, if you wish, I'll order one for you and send it along. I'm nice like that. :) PM me a mailing address.
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

asthmatic camel wrote:Um, if you wish, I'll order one for you and send it along. I'm nice like that. :) PM me a mailing address.
Thanks, AC, I appreciate that!

http://3.1m.yt/Fewh7vq.gif

But it was more a rhetorical whining as I use that crappy dongle roughly once a month, my other machines being born with WiFi incarnate. So don't bother, but thanks again.
asthmatic camel
Posts: 20398
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 1:53 pm
Title: Forum commie nun.
Location: Stirring the porridge with my spurtle.

Re: Windows 10

Post by asthmatic camel »

Oh well, at least I have a spare that works. (The offer was sincere. :) )
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

asthmatic camel wrote:(The offer was sincere. :) )
I know that, my friend. :)


http://3.1m.yt/hk5PByk.jpg
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Hands-on: Microsoft's Surface Studio is a Windows PC for the Mac crowd

http://www.pcworld.com/article/3135370/ ... crowd.html

I ain't reading that.

:cowbell:
Grammatron
Posts: 37819
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:21 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 10

Post by Grammatron »

It's so overpriced that I think Mac crowd will be all for it.
Doctor X
Posts: 79492
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:09 pm
Title: Collective Messiah
Location: Your Mom

Re: Windows 10

Post by Doctor X »

Nyaah, we are happy with a NEW FREE OS that grinds to a halt because Siri.

--J.D.
Grammatron
Posts: 37819
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:21 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 10

Post by Grammatron »

Macs just work.

https://i.redd.it/mdcxq1oaumux.jpg
Doctor X
Posts: 79492
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:09 pm
Title: Collective Messiah
Location: Your Mom

Re: Windows 10

Post by Doctor X »

Are you feeling well, Gram?

Though I have a hybrid SD drive--was FAR cheaper and bigger than the SD drives available nearly four years ago. The thing is, it will store the "important stuff" on the SD section--like the System that actually boots the computer. So I forgot that you have to use, reboot, use a few times.

The newer OS--Sierra--is actually slightly faster. It was just that the first time it took forever to boot and some programs took forever to load. After about two days and maybe three restarts, back to normal if not a wee bit faster.

--J.D.
Grammatron
Posts: 37819
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:21 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 10

Post by Grammatron »

The joke here is that you can't connect your a brand new iPhone 7 to the brain new MacBook Pro without an adapter. Furthermore, you then can't connect your wired headphones to the iPhone 7 because you're out of ports.
Doctor X
Posts: 79492
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:09 pm
Title: Collective Messiah
Location: Your Mom

Re: Windows 10

Post by Doctor X »

Yeah, but the problem is they have, apparently, massively upgraded to four Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) ports which allows you to run two external displays and, if you believe their claims, runs like 4 times faster than USB 3.1 and 10 times USB 3.

They also have a direct USB-C to iPod cables as well as cables that connect USB directly to the USB-C. Having a connection to something that connects to multiple USB is sort of standard the last few years since most products jumped on USB for data transfer and power. So you would probably want that even if the MacBook Pro came with the standard two USB ports.

Apple is just, again, ahead of the curve.

So, yeah, that picture is about as reliable as a Clinton campaign promise.

--J.D.
Grammatron
Posts: 37819
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:21 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 10

Post by Grammatron »

Which would have made sense if they put a USB-C port into the iPhone 7. But then Apple wouldn't be able to offer the convenience of charging you for an adapter peripheral.
Rob Lister
Posts: 23535
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:15 pm
Title: Incipient toppler
Location: Swimming in Lake Ed

Re: Windows 10

Post by Rob Lister »

Doctor X wrote:Yeah, but the problem is they have, apparently, massively upgraded to four Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) ports which allows you to run two external displays and, if you believe their claims, runs like 4 times faster than USB 3.1 and 10 times USB 3.

They also have a direct USB-C to iPod cables as well as cables that connect USB directly to the USB-C. Having a connection to something that connects to multiple USB is sort of standard the last few years since most products jumped on USB for data transfer and power. So you would probably want that even if the MacBook Pro came with the standard two USB ports.

Apple is just, again, ahead of the curve.

So, yeah, that picture is about as reliable as a Clinton campaign promise.

--J.D.
To be fair to Gram, that pic is accurate up to about 5 days ago. While the newest Macbook Pro does sport 4 USB-C ports, last years model sported only one, and it did not include the Thunderbolt 3 spec, afaik. Which is weird, because thunderbolt is an apple spec.
And thankfully they included an audio port as well. How nice of them. It is likely a fine machine. I'm not too sure about the battery life vs memory issue. I will be interersted to see how the new touchbar fares. I'm not a big fan of ever having to remove my finger from the touchpad or mouse.

But to say they are ahead of the curve is just ... wrong.
Grammatron
Posts: 37819
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:21 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 10

Post by Grammatron »

I'll drink to that.

http://www.spiritsnews.co.uk/wp-content ... 10/Ron.jpg
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

http://4.1m.yt/9v2wgSs.jpg
Doctor X
Posts: 79492
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:09 pm
Title: Collective Messiah
Location: Your Mom

Re: Windows 10

Post by Doctor X »

Grammatron wrote:Which would have made sense if they put a USB-C port into the iPhone 7. But then Apple wouldn't be able to offer the convenience of charging you for an adapter peripheral.
Actually, to take some criticism with that, one of the huge problems with PCs and iPods/iPhones/Androids/Et cetera was the different chargers. PCs especially. Hell, a cord that "fit" an HP would not power that HP--but would power a different HP. So as iPods/iPhones developed you got a new power cord that meant your older--and readily available cords--obsolete. So, finally, most have settled on as USB compatible small cord.

IF Apple went USB-C port in the iPhone you would have to buy tons of adapters as all of the wonderful ones we use become obsolete.

Mac did that with computers until a few Macbooks ago--every adapter different and stupid. Now the same cord for about 10 years--magnetic--powers all of them.

But it will not power a Tunderbolt which is "better" so you need an adapter. In other words, to make progress we get screwed. I think wireless is much more convenient than "wired" headphone jacks . . . but that mean I have to buy a wireless!

http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u264 ... 2cs958.gif

--J.D.
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Reminds me, I changed my password on the Windows laptop but didn't change it on the MacBook and I can't remember the old one and I have to figure it out somehow because I need to update the Keychain so I can sudo into the web server which I can't do on Windows.
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

"Fuck you, pay me."

http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly ... 8bce70dfab
For months Microsoft has been describing Windows 10 “as a service” and now we know why. Microsoft is going to introduce a monthly subscription fee for Windows 10 usage…

That cost will be $7 per user per month but the good news is it only applies to enterprises, for now. The new pricing tier will be called “Windows 10 Enterprise E3” and it means Windows has finally joined Office 365 and Azure as a subscription service.

Of course the big question is now: How does this new subscription pricing affect the millions of consumers who upgraded to Windows 10 on the promise of it being free?

The good news is Microsoft has gone on record to say it is not being passed down to consumers at this stage: “This new subscription model is not associated with our current upgrade offering or applicable to the Windows 10 consumer edition,” a Microsoft spokesperson told PC World.

Could Microsoft eventually introduce Windows 10 monthly subscriptions for consumers? Without doubt, but I would be highly sceptical they would apply to anyone who has already upgraded. That said there is likely to be a threshold in future where Microsoft will draw a line in the sand for the ongoing addition of new features without a fee.
Doctor X
Posts: 79492
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:09 pm
Title: Collective Messiah
Location: Your Mom

Re: Windows 10

Post by Doctor X »

It will be free.

The mandatory upgrade Windows 10.001 will not.

MacOS still free!

--J.D.
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

Pyrrho wrote:"Fuck you, pay me."
Interesting, but that article is from mid-July. I found no new development, save that new W10 installs have plummeted since it isn't "free" anymore.

http://4.1m.yt/tHvv48i.jpg
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Got to update the Win XP box...programs just aren't supported anymore.

Thinking about a dual boot scenario though...to keep the old programs available.
gnome
Posts: 25995
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:40 am
Location: New Port Richey, FL

Re: Windows 10

Post by gnome »

Can test some of them in various compatibility modes and other tricks... also is it still possible to run a virtual XP desktop?
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Backed up the WinXP hard drive.

Installed new hard drive. Left the XP drive in place and connected.

Installed Win 10 on the new hard drive, using Custom settings and made sure to install on the new drive.

All went well. On reboot, there is now a Boot menu giving a choice between Win 10 and "Previous version of Windows," although the text might be different from that. Can't remember. I set it to use XP as the default for now until the user is ready to switch over. Works very nicely.
Rob Lister
Posts: 23535
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:15 pm
Title: Incipient toppler
Location: Swimming in Lake Ed

Re: Windows 10

Post by Rob Lister »

My father (84) went to Best Buy to get a new computator. They told him that Windows came with the machine but was only good for one year.

?

Now I have to drive down to go with him to get a new machine.

Edit: that sounded rough. i.e. "I have to".

I'm always glad to see dad. My inheritance will be at least a high 6 figures.
Last edited by Rob Lister on Fri May 26, 2017 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Rob Lister wrote:My father (84) went to Best Buy to get a new computator. They told him that Windows came with the machine but was only good for one year.

?

Now I have to drive down to go with him to get a new machine.
Seems like some sort of scam. Office 365 maybe a 1-year subscription but Windows itself hasn't moved to a subscription model...yet.
Rob Lister
Posts: 23535
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:15 pm
Title: Incipient toppler
Location: Swimming in Lake Ed

Re: Windows 10

Post by Rob Lister »

Pyrrho wrote:
Rob Lister wrote:My father (84) went to Best Buy to get a new computator. They told him that Windows came with the machine but was only good for one year.

?

Now I have to drive down to go with him to get a new machine.
Seems like some sort of scam. Office 365 maybe a 1-year subscription but Windows itself hasn't moved to a subscription model...yet.
It's a combination of dumbass sales folks and a man that didn't grow up with this stuff. It is all very esoteric even to me.

Me and the little lady will drive down sunday and get him set up.
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Microsoft accidentally released some internal dev builds to the public. Hilarity, etc.
ceptimus
Posts: 1485
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: Windows 10

Post by ceptimus »

The new windows 10-S that is supplied on some new laptops only lets you install apps from the Microsoft store - you can't install any programs you might already own on physical media. Also it will only allow you to run the crappy bundled browser - no Firefox or Chrome allowed, and it only lets you use Bing as your search engine.

Presumably the S in its name stands for 'shit edition.'

Microsoft do allow you to downgrade to the older Windows 10 by paying $25 direct to Microsoft. Presumably they figure they can make more money by selling the bundled 10-S to manufacturers​ cheap - maybe giving it away - but then extorting $25 from every new PC buyer who needs an O.S. that is actually usable.
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

Windows 10 S is a specific configurationof Windows 10 Pro that offers a familiar, productive Windows experience that’s streamlined for security and performance.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... s-10-s-faq

Apparently you can "switch to" 10 Pro, S being only for security and the scared (and schools, &c.). (* cough *)

But an interesting step… :mrgreen:
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Parts of Windows 10 source code was accidentally put online in a publicly accessible location.

Hilarity to ensue any day now.

Nobody will notice that it isn't typical Windows behavior anyway.
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

XP not dead [insert punk image]
Forget Windows 10 - Microsoft releases major update that MILLIONS must download right now

Microsoft stopped supporting some of its ageing operating systems back in 2014 but it's just pushed out a major update which protects all users against attack from the latest WannaCry malware.

The US tech firm announced last week that millions of users of its Windows XP operating system would be getting protection against this latest threat.

Microsoft says it has pushed out updates for Windows XP, Windows Vista, and all of its most recent unsupported and supported versions of Windows because of an “elevated risk” of attacks similar to the WannaCry malware.

The shocking WannaCry virus infected around 75,000 computers in 99 countries, including about 40 NHS organisations here in the UK.
http://www.dailystar.co.uk/tech/news/62 ... ncry-virus

:mrgreen:
Witness
Posts: 35689
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Windows 10

Post by Witness »

Latest update…

The boot options I configured disappeared and I had to do it again.

Boot time doubled.

:HoppingMad: Thanks, Microsoft! :HoppingMad2:
asthmatic camel
Posts: 20398
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 1:53 pm
Title: Forum commie nun.
Location: Stirring the porridge with my spurtle.

Re: Windows 10

Post by asthmatic camel »

I had to replace the SSD in my spare machine, so installed Windows 10 Anniversary edition. Startup loop. Great.

Installed from original Windows 10 disc. Startup loop. Great.

Would any of Micro$ofts's fixes work? No.

Installed from a Macrium backup but, as the new SSD is twice the size of the old one, was left with half of it as unallocated space. Would Windows let me extend or merge the partition? No.

Eventually found a freeware program that did the job in about 10 seconds.

Cunts.
Pyrrho
Posts: 33837
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:17 am
Title: Man in Black
Location: Division 6

Re: Windows 10

Post by Pyrrho »

Recent update for businesses getting them from certain Microsoft servers causes Win 10 machines to BSOD and fail to boot.

Hilarity.