Does anyone out there have a good familiarity with Excel?

The war between wetware and hardware.
Interesting Ian

Does anyone out there have a good familiarity with Excel?

Post by Interesting Ian »

I only just started to use excel a few days ago. I have never used any spreadsheets before, and didn't even know what they were until a few days ago, so bear with me.

Basically I'm using a spreadsheet to calculate the probabilities of correct scores of football matches (soccer to you denizens of the USA) in the English premiership. I'm doing this so that should my calculated odds be less than the odds given by betting exchanges or bookies, I can then place a bet and therefore in the long term make a profit (eg my calculated odds for 0 -- 3 might be decimal odds of 24 where as a betting exchanges figures for that score might be 26. Thus if my calculated odds are accurate placing a bet at odds of 26 constitutes a value bet).

Now I would like to import data from http://www.betfair.com. In order to see an example of what I wish to import click the link, click soccer from the list on the left, click English soccer, click Berkeley's Premiership, click Fixtures 5th November, click Arsenal v Sunderland, click correct score. You'll see columns of figures. The column with the blue background is an example of the type of data I wish to import into a spreadsheet. Note that these figures are constantly updating and I wish for it to do so in my spreadsheet.

So is this possible and if so, how would I do it?

I'll also have a column of my own generated odds to compare with the betfair figures. The betfair figures have to exceed my figures. Can I get the betfair figures to turn green (or something of a similar nature) if they exceed my calculated odds?

Any responses greatly appreciated. If explaining how to do it make it very very simple though :) I know next to nothing about any of this stuff.
CHARLEY_BIGTIME

Re: Does anyone out there have a good familiarity with Excel